web analytics

Epsom Derby Facts and Figures

Epsom Derby News

You can find all the very latest Epsom Derby news and previews at Epsomderby.com plus you can also grab yourself many exclusive free bet offers and other great bonuses simply by registering with any of the bookmakers featured on this page using the links provided.

Epsom Derby Facts and Figures

The Derby (currently known as the Cazoo Derby Stakes for sponsorship purposes) takes place in early June each year at the stunning Epsom Downs racecourse and it is one of the most eagerly awaited flat races in the country. This race has a very long and illustrious history with the first race having been run in 1780 and we take a look at some fascinating facts about the Epsom Derby.


Epsom Derby Historical Facts


The first running of the famous Epsom Derby was in 1780 and the winner of this race was Diomed, ridden by Sam Arnull, trained by R Teasdale and owned by Sir Charles Bunbury

The 1913 running of the race became known as the 'Suffragette Derby' when suffragette Emily Davison ran out in front of King George V's horse and was killed. The militant suffragette attempted to grab the horse's reins and she was seriously injured, dying from her injuries just a few days later.


Epsom Derby Racecourse Facts


This year's Epsom Derby will be held on Saturday, 1st June with a scheduled start time of 4.30pm.

The 2024 Epsom Derby will be broadcast live on ITV1 while coverage will be available to subscribers of RacingTV. The law states that the Derby (as well as the Grand National) must be shown on free-to-air TV across the UK.

The 2023 Epsom Derby was won by 9/2 shot Auguste Rodin. Owned by Derrick Smith, Michael Tabor and John Magnier. Trained by Aiden O'Brien who has had a total of nine winners in the race.

The Epsom Derby is a total distance of one mile, four furlongs and ten yards (2,420 metres)

The total prize purse for the Epsom Derby in 2024 will be £1.5 million with the winner receiving £850,650 which will be shared between connections and jockey.

The total number of horses running this famous race varies from one year to the next, this being dependant on how many actually qualify and are deemed fit to race. Nevertheless the general rule is that anywhere between 12 and 16 runners will compete on the day and this will never exceed 20.

The card at Epsom Racecourse on Derby Day contains seven races, including the Derby itself.


Epsom Derby Winners Facts


The 2022 winner of the Epsom Derby was Desert Crown, ridden by Richard Kingscote and trained by Sir Michael Stoute

The 2021 winner of the Epsom Derby was Adayar, ridden by Adam Kirby and trained by Charlie Appleby

Serpentine was the winner of the 2020 Epsom Derby, ridden by Emmet McNamara and trained by Aiden O'Brien who became the most successful Derby-winning trainer in the history of the race

Anthony Van Dyke was the 2019 winner of the Epsom Derby, a bay colt trained by Aidan O'Brien and ridden by Seamie Heffernan

The 239th running of the Epsom Derby was won by Masar, a Charlie Appleby-trained runner ridden by William Buick at a starting price of 16/1